Adventure is Out There

Last week I had the privilege of being a staff member at Adventure Camp here at Dunfield House. Adventure Camp is a Community of Christ camp for campers ages 11-15. Those of you that know me know camps have always played a huge role in my life personally and spiritually, so it means a lot to me to be able to help make these experiences great for other kids!

I came into the week not knowing what to expect – what differences there would be, what would feel the same, etc. Because of how dearly I hold my camp experiences, I was a bit skeptical about how this camp would “measure up” to those I have experienced in the states. But if I learned anything this week, it’s that while the people, capture the flag rules, accents, and location may be different, the spirit at Community of Christ camps remain the same.

I was able to get a real taste of being a World Church with shared beliefs and values and how that connects us across the globe. I was able to listen to children speak out about where peace is needed in the world and watched as they talked about what they could do for unity, others, the world, and for peace. And I was able to become part of the Adventure Camp family at Dunfield House which I am incredibly thankful for even if it primarily meant being made fun of for words like ‘semi-truck’ and ‘soda’.

Thanks to the fellow staff members who all gave so much to the camp and the campers to make the week the best it could be. I’m grateful to have newfound friendships with people that are not only fun to be around, but offer a listening ear when I need it. I’m also grateful that they responded quickly and efficiently after the lock broke on my door and I got stuck in my room – probably punishment for trying to get a nap in. Thank you all for your leadership, I can’t wait to see more of you all!

Thank you, too, to the campers who embraced Nick and I and welcomed us quickly. I’m not sure you all realize how much you helped me last week, but being with you all started me on the process of me feeling more of a part of this culture and country and not just an onlooker. Thank you for being so willing to share your culture, your songs, your language, and your love with us! (And for helping me avoid the nettles!) Hope to see most of you at Youth Rally!!

What I am most thankful for is that last week I got to truly see why Dunfield means so much to people. Instead of just working on the grounds, I got to experience it for myself which gives me a renewed sense of understanding for why I was sent here to help Dunfield be the best it can be.

I am so incredibly blessed to be part of Community of Christ – a church that has made me feel at home in Illinois, Kentucky, Florida, and now England. Without this church, I would not be who I am today.

Thanks for an amazing week, Adventurers!

2 thoughts on “Adventure is Out There

  1. “without the church I would not be who I am today”

    So touched by those words Korinne – and in my experience that will continue to be the case.as life goes on! My prayer is that no matter what you do from here on – you will position yourself to continue to be able to be a part of the ministry that has nurtured you up to this point. I can’t see you without that ability in your life! Love you – and continue to be so very proud of you. ❤

    Like

  2. You’ve been in Kentucky long enough that I’m surprised you didn’t just say “Coke” in reference to the soft drink.

    And, you were able to receive the Spirit with the kids last week. I can’t wait until you see the impact YOU make while serving selflessly. You were called to be there. There WILL be blessings and testimonies from the experiences!

    Like

Leave a comment